Decisions

Posted on

Fast. That one word is the best way to describe my past three years of high school. It all seems like one giant blur. I feel like just a second ago I was a socially awkward and nervous freshman, walking down what seemed to be the “giant” halls of HHS for my first time. Since that first day time has flown faster then the speed of light! The halls of the high school gradually appeared smaller and smaller, and my social skills steadily grew (not to say I’m not still a little awkward). The thought that this year marks the last year I will EVER spend in high school is just astounding. I mean, I really still feel like a freshman!  Really the only difference I feel from freshman year to today is that I can sort of grow a beard now! Unfortunately (or fortunately, I cant really tell which) for me though, a spike in my responsibilities combined with a huge load of work I have to complete this year, constantly reminds me that I’m no longer that funny looking, awkward, and for the most part care free freshman. I have decisions to make and dreams to chase. All of these decisions and dreams have me on edge, but also have me quite excited.

Despite the importance of these decisions, and the impact they will have on my future, I’m really looking forward to making them. I can’t wait to find out where I’ll be attending college next year, if I’ll be playing sports, and where I’ll be living. I’m nervous about having to make these decisions, but really excited to see the results they have on me. I can only hope I make the right decisions. One of my biggest fears is that I’ll end up at a college that I absolutely hate, and as a result hate my first year of school. I really don’t want that to happen to me. In making these decisions I’m going to have to trust my gut, and for one of the first times in my life make a decision that is solely based on what is best for me. Not going to lie, the thought of that makes me a little nervous. Really, the big decisions I’m going to be making this year have me both excited and nervous!

On a less deep note, I’m looking forward to a lot of activities this year! I’m stoked for football season, and I can’t wait for Track to start! Also, I decided to do cheerleading this year during the winter sports season, so I’m really excited for that as well! Something else I’m really looking forward to is coaching Special Olympics basketball again! I coached last year with my good friend Taylor Guzman and we had a blast! It was great, one of the teams we assisted with qualified for the state tournament, so we got to go and help supervise the players for an entire weekend while they competed! It was exhausting but extremely fun! 

All in all, I’m both nervous and excited for the different decisions and activities I have ahead of me this year! I can’t wait to play, and coach athletics, and I’m really looking forward to finally ironing out my plans for college. The big decisions I’ll be making have me nervous, but I realize their importance, and I plan on making them with confidence, and making the best out of wherever they take me.

One thought on “Decisions

    Erin said:
    September 6, 2013 at 5:59 am

    Our blog posts are very similar in theme! Haha 🙂

Leave a comment